Information Services:

Basic Security

Basic Security

You can use the four security zones in Microsoft® Internet Explorer to set the appropriate level of security for the various types of Web content. Based on the zones, Internet Explorer determines how much to allow various Web sites to interact with your computer.

Internet Explorer divides the Internet access into four zones:

Trusted Zone: Sites that you assign to the Trusted Zone will be allowed to perform a wider range of operations on your computer, such as downloading code. Add a site to this zone only if you trust it never to perform any harmful operations on your computer.
Restricted Zone: Sites that you feel are not trustworthy can be listed in the Restricted Zone, which carries a high security level that limits actions a Web site can perform on your computer. These actions include automatically refreshing itself and downloading code.
Local Intranet Zone: Information on your corporate intranet or on your home network would typically go in the Local Intranet Zone, which carries a medium security level by default.
Internet Zone: All Web sites that are not included in the other zones are automatically assigned to the Internet Zone. By default, your computer treats these sites with medium security.

Take Action:

1) Keep up-to-date with the latest version of Internet Explorer by using Windows Update
2) Configure Privacy Options in Internet Explorer 6
3) Set up Security Zones in Internet Explorer 6

  • Emory Security Awareness
    Emory Security Awareness Site is A comprehensive site containing information about new vulnerabilities and viruses, statistics on security incidents at Emory, and links to other security sites.
    > More